

CONNECTING COMMUNITIES
ARROYO GRANDE | ATASCADERO | GROVER BEACH
MORRO BAY | PASO ROBLES | PISMO BEACH
SAN LUIS OBISPO | SAN LUIS OBISPO COUNTY

253 Elks Lane San Luis Obispo, CA 93401 Phone: (805) 781-4472 www.slorta.org

## SAN LUIS OBISPO COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS REGIONAL TRANSIT AUTHORITY

\*\*\*JOINT BOARD MEETING\*\*\*

**WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 8, 2025** 

#### PLEASE NOTE THE LOCATION:

San Luis Obispo County Board of Supervisors Chambers
KATCHO ACHADJIAN GOVERNMENT CENTER SAN LUIS OBISPO COUNTY
1055 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, California 93401

## PLEASE NOTE THE TIME: 9:00 A.M.

The AGENDA is available/posted at: www.slocog.org

President:	Vice President: Jimmy Paulding		
Board Members			
John Peschong (First District - SLO County)	Heather Newsom (Atascadero)		
Bruce Gibson (Second District - SLO County)	(Grover Beach)		
Dawn Ortiz-Legg (Third District - SLO County)	Carla Wixom (Morro Bay		
Jimmy Paulding (Fourth District - SLO County)	Fred Strong (Paso Robles		
Heather Moreno (Fifth District - SLO County)	Ed Waage (Pismo Beach)		
Aileen Loe (Arrovo Grande)	Emily Francis (Alternate, San Luis Obispo)		

SLOCOG and RTA, in accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), will accommodate persons who require a modification of accommodation to participate in this meeting. SLOCOG and RTA are also committed to helping people with limited proficiency in the English language access the agency's essential public information and services in the Spanish language. You can request such assistance by calling (805) 781-4219. We require at least 48 hours notice to provide reasonable accommodations.

SLOCOG y RTA, de acuerdo con la Ley de Estadounidenses con Discapacidades (ADA), acomodará a las personas que requieran una modificación de la adaptación para participar en esta reunión. SLOCOG y RTA también se comprometen a ayudar a las personas con dominio limitado del inglés a acceder a los servicios públicos esenciales de la agencia y a la información pública en español. Para solicitar una adaptación, por favor llame al (805) 781-4219. Requerimos al menos 48 horas de anticipación para proporcionar adaptaciones razonables.

# SAN LUIS OBISPO COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS AND REGIONAL TRANSIT AUTHORITY JOINT MEETING – JANUARY 8, 2025

- 1. FLAG SALUTE, CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL
- 2. **PUBLIC COMMENTS:** Any member of the public may address the SLOCOG/RTA Board for a period not to exceed three (3) minutes on any item of interest not on the agenda within the jurisdiction of the Board. In compliance with the Brown Act, the Board will listen to all communication, but will not take any action on items that are not on the agenda.
- 3. JOINT SLOCOG AND SLORTA BOARD ADMINISTRATIVE ITEMS
  - a. WELCOME NEW BOARD MEMBERS
  - b. ELECTION OF OFFICERS: Elect President and Vice President (ROLL CALL APPROVE).
  - c. **EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENT** (VOICE VOTE APPOINT PRESIDENT, VICE PRESIDENT AND PAST PRESIDENT).
  - d. Presentation of a Resolution of Appreciation to Outgoing Board Member Debbie Arnold (5<sup>th</sup> District, County of San Luis Obispo), recognizing her service as Board Member of the SLOCOG and RTA Boards from January 2013 to through December 2024. Peter Rodgers & Geoff Straw
  - e. Presentation of a Plaque of Appreciation & Bus Sign to Outgoing Board Member Daniel Rushing (City of Grover Beach), recognizing his service as Board Member of the SLOCOG and RTA Boards in 2023 and 2024. Peter Rodgers & Geoff Straw
  - f. Presentation of a Plaque of Appreciation to Outgoing Alternate Board Member Karen Bright (City of Grover Beach), recognizing her service as Board Member of the SLOCOG and RTA Boards from January 2020 to January 2023, and as Alternate Board Member from 2023 through 2024. Peter Rodgers & Geoff Straw
- 4. ADJOURN TO SLOCOG BOARD MEETING

Note: The SLOCOG Board meeting agenda is provided under separate cover.

H:\2024-25 OWP\0400 Agency Admin, Finance, Personnel 24-25\SLOCOG BOARD AGENDAS 24-25\7 - January 2025\1-1 JOINT SLOCOG & RTA Agenda - January 8, 2025.docx

#### SAN LUIS OBISPO COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS SAN LUIS OBISPO REGIONAL TRANSIT AUTHORITY RESOLUTION OF APPRECIATION

For

### **Debbie Arnold**

The following Resolution is now offered and read:

WHEREAS, for the past 12 years, beginning in January 2013, Debbie Arnold has served the San Luis Obispo region with dedication and effectiveness as San Luis Obispo Council of Governments (SLOCOG) and Regional Transit Authority (RTA) Board Member (2013-2024), representing County of San Luis Obispo District 5 and the San Luis Obispo region, and as Vice President (2014 & 2022) & President (2015 & 2023) of SLOCOG & RTA; and

WHEREAS, Debbie Arnold represented the Region in its entirety by serving as an Alternate Representative to the California Association of Councils of Governments (CALCOG) Board in 2014 & 2015; and

WHEREAS, Debbie Arnold has been a strong advocate for open and efficient Government, economic development, rural, agricultural, and capital improvements, and building the public's trust throughout the San Luis Obispo region; and

WHEREAS, Debbie Arnold effectively championed the implementation of a balanced, integrated, multi-modal transportation system that serves the Region, helping facilitate the following successes through advocacy, governance, partnerships, and allocation of funds:

- Securing Federal and State funds for Highways 46 and 101
- Advocating for a robust County Road maintenance budget
- Maintaining and improving regional public transportation
- Supporting transparency in government and civil public discourse

WHEREAS, during the past 12 years, Debbie Arnold has been an integral part of SLOCOG's effort to support sustainable, healthy, economically vibrant communities by addressing land use, transportation, and environmental considerations at the local, regional, and state levels.

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED**, that the San Luis Obispo Council of Governments and the San Luis Obispo (SLO) Regional Transit Authority does hereby thank Debbie Arnold for her dedicated service on the SLOCOG and RTA Boards during the past 12 years.

The foregoing resolution is hereby presented on this 8th day of January 2025.

Peter Rodgers, Executive Director
San Luis Obispo Council of Governments
Geoff Straw, Executive Director
SLO Regional Transit Authority



#### **DANIEL RUSHING**

THE SAN LUIS OBISPO
COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS
and
SAN LUIS OBISPO
REGIONAL TRANSIT AUTHORITY

HEREBY RECOGNIZE YOUR LEADERSHIP
AND SERVICE
as
BOARD MEMBER
from
JANUARY 2023 through DECEMBER 2024

JANUARY 2025



#### **KAREN BRIGHT**

THE SAN LUIS OBISPO
COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS
&
SAN LUIS OBISPO
REGIONAL TRANSIT AUTHORITY

HEREBY RECOGNIZE YOUR LEADERSHIP
AND SERVICE
as
BOARD MEMBER
from
JANUARY 2020 to JANUARY 2023
and as

ALTERNATE BOARD MEMBER from
JANUARY 2023 through DECEMBER 2024

JANUARY 2025